Open All Hours Series 1 – 4


Open All Hours: Complete BBC Series 1, 2, 3 & 4

1 in stock

Categories: , Tags: , , ,


Open All Hours: Complete BBC Series 1, 2, 3 & 4


Brand New & Factory Sealed

Official UK Product

4 DVD Box Set

RRP £34.99

Open All Hours was a BBC sitcom written by Roy Clarke which ran for four series (25 episodes in all) between 1976 and 1985. This box set also includes the rarely seen pilot ‘Open All Hours’ first transmitted by the BBC on 25 March 1973.


The series features a small grocer’s shop in Balby, a suburb of Doncaster in South Yorkshire. The owner, Arkwright (Ronnie Barker), is a middle-aged miser with a stammer and a knack for being able to sell anything . His nephew Granville (David Jason) is the put-upon errand boy, whose attempts at a love-life or even just a meaningful social life fall flat. He blames his uncle, in particular that he has to be up early to open the shop and stay late to close it.

Pilot (1973)

‘Open All Hours’

Series 1 (1976)

‘Full of Mysterious Promise’, ‘A Mattress on Wheels’, ‘A Nice Cosy Little Disease’, ‘Beware of the Dog’, ‘Well Catered Funeral’, ‘Apple and Self Service’

Series 2 (1981)

‘Laundry Blues’, ‘The Reluctant Traveller’, ‘Fig Biscuits and Inspirational Toilet Rolls’, ‘The New Suit’, ‘Arkwright’s Mobile Store’, ‘Shedding at the Wedding’, ‘St. Albert’s Day’

Series 3 (1982)

‘An Errand Boy by the Ear’, ‘The Ginger Men’, ‘Duet for Solo Bicycle’, ‘How to Ignite Your Errand Boy’, ‘The Man from Down Under’, ‘The Cool Cocoa Tin Lid’

Series 4 (1985)

‘Soulmate Wanted’, ‘Horse-Trading’, ‘The Housekeeper Caper’, ‘The Errand Boy Executive’, ‘Happy Birthday Arkwright’ and ‘The Mystical Boudoir of Nurse Gladys Emmanuel’